Search this site

About us

RPBCWD Board of  Managers: (from left) Richard Chadwick, Jill Crafton, Perry Forster, Leslie Yetka, Mary Bisek

RPBCWD Board of  Managers: (from left) Dorothy Pedersen, Richard Chadwick, Leslie Yetka, Dick Ward, Jill Crafton

The Riley-Purgatory-Bluff Creek Watershed District  was established by order of the Minnesota Water Resources Board on July 31, 1969, pursuant to the Watershed Act [Laws 1955 c799 s1]. Originally known as the Riley-Purgatory Creek Watershed District, it became the Riley-Purgatory-Bluff Creek Watershed District in August 1984. Its function is to protect and manage the water resources within the district, which is approximately 50 square miles in surface area and encompasses the land area tributary to Riley Creek, Purgatory Creek, and Bluff Creek in Hennepin and Carver counties. Portions of the cities of Bloomington, Chanhassen, Deephaven, Eden Prairie, Minnetonka, and Shorewood are located in the district.

The activities of the district are managed by the five member Board of Managers; four members appointed by the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners and one member by the Carver County Board of Commissioners. Managers serve three-year terms and must live within the legal boundaries of the district.

We believe restoring and protecting our waters is the highest priority, while respecting our local history and preserving our water heritage. To achieve this goal, we have a "One Water" management strategy for long term restoration and preservation of our connected waters through system-wide, positive solutions. We seek to:

To have waters dominated by native fish and plant populations.

To delist impaired waters in the district and improve water clarity.

To engage and educate residents and scientists in adaptive management activities.

To support regulations necessary to sustain water quality.

The Riley-Purgatory-Bluff Creek Watershed District Board of Managers adopted on July 2, 2014 and adopted as amended on May 3, 2017 their Governance Manual.  The manual establishes clear written policies, procedures and instructions for the management of District activities and accounts, complete record keeping and records management, and separation of duties among District staff and contractors. 


What does a watershed district do?

Water follows a natural path, called a watershed. Watershed districts are local governments based on natural watersheds and are charged with protecting and improving our communities’ water resources. 

Watershed districts are led by district residents and water professionals who focus on managing local water resources.

Watershed districts partner with local communities to identify top priorities and plan, implement, and manage efforts which protect and improve local water resources.

Watershed districts educate and engage residents in protecting and improving local water resources.

The efforts watershed districts undertake benefit the quality and quantity of water in local, as well as downstream watersheds and communities.

What is RPBCWD's vision for the future?

The RPBCWD’s vision for the future is to achieve sustainable uses appropriate for each water body of the District.

Who does RPBCWD work with?

The RPBCWD works with a multitude of partners from citizens living and working in the District to State Agencies.  Please find below a limited list of entities we have worked/partnered with:

  • Board of Water and Soil Resources
  • Carver County
  • Carver County Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Carver County Water Management Organization
  • City of Bloomington
  • City of Chanhassen
  • City of Chaska
  • City of Deephaven
  • City of Eden Prairie
  • City of Minnetonka
  • City of Shorewood
  • Department of Natural Resources
  • Hennepin County
  • Lotus Lake Conservation Alliance
  • Lower Minnesota River Watershed District
  • Minnehaha Creek Watershed District
  • Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
  • Nine Mile Creek Watershed District
  • RPBCWD Citizen Advisory Committee
  • US Corps of American Engineers

Citizens Advisory Committee

The Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) is a community-led volunteer advisory group that supports the watershed district in its mission to preserve, manage, and restore water resources. CAC memebers meet on a regular basis, provide suggestions to district staff and the Board of managers, assist in developing programs and activities, and volunteer for projects and activities.

Meeting minutes and bylaws

2017 Members.JPG

2017 Members
Back Row: Paul Bulger, Anne Deuring, Judy McClellan, Jim Boettcher, Dorothy Pedersen (Chair), Pete Iversen
Front Row: David Ziegler, Joan Palmquist (Recorder), Matt Lindon

[not picture: Sharon McCotter (Vice Chair), Dennis Yockers]

Quick Links


Riley Purgatory Bluff Creek
Watershed District
18681 Lake Drive East
Chanhassen, MN 55317 




Dr. Claire Bleser
District Administrator



Terry Jeffery
Project & Permit Manager




Michelle Jordan
Community Outreach


Josh Maxwell
Water Resources Coordinator




Zach Dickhausen
Water Resources Technician




Four Managers are appointed by the Hennepin County Commissioners and one Manager is appointed by the Carver County Commissioners. Each serves a three-year term.


Leslie Yetka, Minnetonka
Term Expires: July 2019

Dorothy Pedersen, Shorewood
Term Expire: July 2020

Dick Ward, Eden Prairie
Term Expires: July 2020

Jill Crafton, Bloomington
Term Expires: July 2018

Richard Chadwick, Chanhassen
Term Expires: July 2018


Engineering Advisor

Scott Sobiech (Barr Engineering)
4700 West 77th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55345

Legal Advisor

Smith Partners PLLP 
400 Second Avenue South, Suite 1200
Minneapolis, MN 55401
612-344-1400 phone
612-344-1550 fax